The Writing Process Blog Tour

An invitation from my North-Of-The-Border friend Cassandra Griffin

cassandragriffin

to join The Writing Process Blog Tour has prompted me to dust off my poor neglected blog. Cassandra was a regular at Thursday’s Children, for those of you who remember that awesome weekly blog hop. She’s represented by Pooja Menon of Kimberley Cameron & Associates and writes YA fiction. Check out the description of her WIP, working title PORCELAIN PRINCESS here . I think you’ll agree, it sounds like a great read!

You can also follow her on Twitter @chgriffinauthor

Now, without further ado, the question and answer part of our show…

 What am I currently working on?

A deep, dark psychological suspense story which was inspired when I found a dead dog on a beach in Maine. In my story the dog isn’t a dog at all, she’s a mermaid (equally dead). One of my narrators is the mermaid’s sister. She’s taken a vow of silence. Not total silence–she does text. The other narrator is a boy. He’s the one who discovers the dead mermaid, and then becomes obsessed with her, because he has his own twisty secrets which make a dead mermaid seem like the perfect girlfriend. Of course.

yes animated GIF

My MCs are in high school, but because of some of the things that happen to them, they have to be eighteen. Apparently I’m writing my first NA.

My protagonists, Orla and Owen, unravel what happened to Miren (the mermaid). They have to work together, which isn’t easy, since neither of them trusts a soul. They don’t even trust themselves. While uncovering Miren’s secrets, they inadvertently unearth some of their own, and other peoples’ too. These secrets are glittery diamonds emitting rays of hope throughout this moody tale…
no animated GIF

*Thank you, Johnny.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Well, that remains to be seen, because it’s only about halfway done. This WIP’s bag of tricks does include throwback psychological tests,

rorschach-inkblot-2

Christian martyrs,

Saint Agnes of Rome                c. 291-304

Saint Agnes of Rome                   c. 291-304

Irish folklore,

Waterhouse

Waterhouse

and a Jack Russell terrier named Gyp.

"Gyp", as played by Daisy

“Gyp”, as played by Daisy

They say, “Write about what interests you”, so I make no apologies.

Why do I write what I write?

I “enjoy” exploring relationships, trauma, memory, and coping mechanisms. YA/NA provides characters who are extremely vulnerable emotionally, and yet able to contemplate things with more sophistication than children. Traumatic events and the memories of them have profound power to shape who a teenager is and who he or she will become.

How does my individual writing process work?

Sometimes it’s like plucking the fuzz off a peach and sometimes it’s like riding a headstrong horse at breakneck speed along an oceanside cliff. In more literal terms, my writing process changes a bit with each book I write. This WIP/gnarly beast is taking FOREVER to write and presenting more challenges than any of its predecessors (plucking peach fuzz in the dark while wearing mittens). Silly me, thinking things might get easier. Sigh. Things have gotten deeper and more intuitive, but messier. Generally, I reread a chapter or two to get back into my characters’ heads and to make sure transitions are smooth. I spend a lot of time thinking about my story while walking my dogs, driving, and falling asleep (either in bed or at my computer). I make scribbly notes for themes, characters, back-story, and specific scenes. There’s a timeline to ensure things work chronologically.

Ultimately once the damn thing is written, I’ll assess the need for major overhauls. Then off to CPs/betas and more revising/editing.

And now, to tag some friends!

I’ve persuaded the following lovely writers to share the fun. Once they let me know their posts are up, I’ll tweet links to their blog posts.

1.JamieRae

Jamie Rae writes YA/NA. Her debut CALL SIGN KARMA is coming January 2015. Many of you may also know her as the agent Jamie Bodnar Drowley of Inklings Literary. She’s also Dr. Drowley, orthodontist. Clearly the woman never sleeps…and maybe she consumes lots of Red Bull. Here’s a link to her blog. She can also be found on Twitter @JamieRaeWrites

2. Louise

Louise D. Gornall writes Urban Fantasy and Horror YA and is rep’d by Mandy Hubbard of D4EO. You can read about her debut IN STONE on Goodreads here. Her blog is here , and you can find her on Twitter @Rock_andor_roll as well as at The Midnight Type and World of YA. Fun fact: Louise is an identical twin!

3. DDFalvo

Denise D. Falvo was captured and released by faeries as a child and is still trying to find her way back. She writes fantasy and adopts stray dragons as consolation. You can find her blog here and follow her on Twitter @DDFalvo . She’s also one of the guiding lights at Writer Unboxed and an all around fantabulous person.

4.  EMCastellan

EM Castellan lives in a castle in England. Seriously. I wouldn’t kid you about something like that-follow her on Twitter @EMCastellan and ask her yourself. Her blog is here and she’s also a frequent contributor to There and Draft Again. She’s represented by Erin Niumata of Folio Lit and writes YA Fantasy. If you have a question about Victorian-era London, look no further.

5. KateMichael

Kate Michael and I met ages ago during various writing contests and she was a frequent contributor to the Thursday’s Children blog hop. You can follow her on Twitter @_KateMichael and find her blog here. She writes YA/NA and is one of my go to people when I need a beta double-quick, as in “can you read this NOW and get back to me TONIGHT?!?”, and/or a shoulder to cry on regarding the roller coaster otherwise known as traditional publishing.

6.

RebecaS

Rebeca Schiller – she and I met on the Writer Unboxed Facebook group. We share a love of writing (of course) and a love of animals, especially Jack Russell Terriers. Hers is named Mr. Bessie. She’s an expert on the Spanish Civil War, lefty politics, and Scrivener. She can be found on Twitter @SchillerRebeca and on her blog .

7.

kathypalm

Kathy Palm – her Twitter bio explains exactly why we’re friends – she loves all things scary, magical, and weird (emphasis for me on the scary and weird, with a dash of magical). Speaking of Twitter, you can and should follow her @KathleenPalm . You can also find her at her blog . She writes YA Fantasy and was on vacation (a real one, not a make-believe one) when I initially asked her to play the blog tour game. Now that she’s back, she’s on board, yay!

If you’re not one of those I’ve tagged, I’d still love to hear your answers to the writing process questions. Use the comments section!

About Rhiann Wynn-Nolet

Fiction Writer. Co-Founder #CriTiki Lounge pitch feedback forum and Like A Virgin Writing Contest.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Pat Esden says:

    I had to stop by and check out what you’re working on. Love that a dead mermaid is the perfect girl friend for him. That makes me totally curious. My WIP has also been like fuzz plucking while blindfolded 😦

  2. ddfalvo says:

    You made this blog so much fun, I was truly sorry when it ended. The gifs are always a favorite.

    This: “plucking peach fuzz in the dark while wearing mittens”, I laughed so hard. I adore your humor, and imagine that eeks it’s way into your work too. Love the names, and I love the addition of the silent sister! All your elements are so fascinating; I have this image of you weaving those details like magical threads into a really cool story. I’m kinda dying to read it.

    So awed by this impressive list of talented writers, and wish everyone the very best with their novels.
    And thanks for the nice comments. 🙂 Zeb is preening over what he believes is an indirect mention re: the stray dragon. You’d think it was his picture up there. He insists I concede that my twitter blurb is pure fabrication since “I” am the adopted one, and not him. (Dragons and their egos . . .)

    So very excited for this book. It’s feeling like a winner. 😉

  3. Kate Michael says:

    Hey, lady!! I’m honored by the shout out and I can’t wait to read your WIP!!! Truly, everything you write, including your blogs posts, is stunning. ❤

  4. Marilyn says:

    Fantastic Article and I love hearing about the way you write. The dark suspense sounds intriguing. Just stopped by to say hello and wish you well with your work..

Leave a Reply

